Alumni of the Year Awards

Photo of glass awards on a tableEach year, the University of Maryland College of Information (INFO) awards one graduate and one undergraduate alumn who has made significant contributions to their field, has transformed lives through information and technology, and has been a role model of the college. Honorees are awarded at the University of Maryland Alumni Association Awards Gala and at the Annual INFO Alumni Awards Celebration.

Rising Terp Award Recipients (Undergraduate):

  • 2023: Gabriel Cruz, InfoSci ’18, MIM ’21
    Engineering Manager, PARA Business Systems; Adjunct Lecturer INFO College

Distinguished Terrapin Award Recipients (Graduate):

  • 2023: Wilda Logan, MLS ’78
    Supervisory Archives Specialist at National Archives and Records Administration
  • 2022: Denise Davis, MLS ’75
    Director Emerita Cecil County Public Library
  • 2021: Julius C. Jefferson Jr., MLS 2005
    President of the American Library Association (2020-2021)
  • 2020: Jon Cawthorne, MLS 1993
    Dean of the Wayne State University Library System and the University’s School of Information Sciences
  • 2019: Jamuna Sundararajan, MIM 2005
    President and CEO of Cyberbahn Federal Solutions LLC
  • 2016: Joan Giesecke, MLS 1973
    Dean Emeritus University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • 2015: Paul Wester, MLS, 1992
    Director, U.S. Department of Agriculture National Agricultural Library
  • 2013: Maureen Sullivan, MLS, 1976
    President, American Library Association
  • 2009: Nancy Roderer, MLS, 1973
    Director, Welch Medical Library and Division of Health Sciences Information, Johns Hopkins University
  • 2008: Jane Kinney Meyers, MLS 1978
    Founder and President, Lubuto Library Partners
  • 2007: Robyn C. Frank, MLS, 1972
    American Society for Information Science.
  • 2005: Leslie Burger, MLS, 1974
    Executive Director, Princeton Public Library
  • 2004: Susan Fifer Canby, MLS, 1974
    Manager, National Geographic Learning
  • 2003: Betsy Humphreys, MLS, 1972
    Deputy Director, U.S. National Library of Medicine
  • 2002: None presented
  • 2001: Claudia J. Mills, MLS, 1988
    Children’s book author; Psychology professor
  • 2000: Jane B. Robbins, Ph. D., 1972
    Dean, Florida State University School of Information Studies.
  • 1999: James C. Welbourne, MLS, 1970
    City Librarian, New Haven, CT; Deputy Director, Enoch Pratt Free Library
  • 1998: Kay Rader, MLS, 1974
    Regional Librarian for Coastal Libraries
  • 1997: Amado “Sonny” Narvaez, MLS, 1976
    Media specialist at Montgomery Knolls Elementary School
  • 1996: Esther Herman, MLS, 1968
    Coordinator of publications and alumni relations, College of Library and Information, University of Maryland
  • 1995: Cecilia L. Keller, MLS, 1973
    System Director, Chester County Library System; President, Maryland Library Association, 1990-1991
  • 1994: Sybille A Jagusch, MLS, 1969, Ph. D., 1990
    Chief, Children’s Literature Center at the Library of Congress.
  • 1993: Leslie A. Kulp, MLS 1974
    Chief of Collection Development, National Agriculture Library
  • 1992: Carol K. DiPrete, MLS,1981
    Dean of Academic Services, Roger Williams University
  • 1991: Eleanor “Joey” Rodger, MLS, 1979
    Executive Director, Urban Libraries Council.
  • 1990: Richard H. Lytle, Ph. D.,1976
    Dean, College of Information Science and Technology, Drexel University
  • 1989: Carolyn P. Brown, MLS, 1968
    Chief of Information Services, National Standards Bureau (NIST)
  • 1988: J. Linda Williams, 1977
    Coordinator of library media services, Anne Arundel County Public Schools.
  • 1987: Alice L. Hagemeyer, MLS, 1976
    Founder, Friends of Libraries for Deaf Action
  • 1986: Hans H. Wellisch, MLS, 1972, Ph.D., 1975
    Professor Emeritus, UMD’s INFO College
  • 1985: Katherine “Kitty” Hurrey, MLS, 1967
    Director, Southern Maryland Regional Library; President, Maryland Library Association, 1979-1980
  • 1984: Anne S. MacLeod, MLS, 1966, Ph D,1973
    Professor Emerita, UMD College of Information